What do I need to obtain a marriage license?

You can apply for your marriage license by mail.

Both parties must be present to apply for a marriage license. You must both be at least 18 years of age and present valid government issued identification that is not expired (ie; passport, drivers license, id card). If an interpreter is needed you should bring one with you. Neither the bride or groom can interpret for the other. Your marriage license must be used within 60 days or returned to our office. The license must be returned to our office within five days after the marriage occurs. It can be used anywhere in the state of Virginia and your Officiant must have been approved to perform licenses by any circuit court in Virginia. The costs for the marriage license is $30.00 and we accept cash, MasterCard and Visa. There is a $2.00 convenience fee when a card is used for payment. Once you are married and the Officiant has returned the completed copies of the marriage license you can get certified copies. You may present these to employers, insurers, social security or the DMV. The certified copies are $2.50 each  

Show All Answers

1. What do I need to obtain a marriage license?
2. How do I get married at the courthouse by the Clerk of Circuit Court
3. Can I pay my court costs/fines online or over the phone?
4. How to I obtain a Concealed Handgun Permit?
5. Who do I contact when a loved one passes away