Intake Section

The Intake Section, which falls under the supervision of the Support Services Division Commander, is responsible for all new intakes in the Roanoke City Jail. The intake section is comprised of a daylight Lieutenant, a daylight Sergeant, a permanent daylight deputy, and 4 different platoons (each which is comprised of a Sergeant, Master Deputy and three (3) Intake Specialist Deputies). All new intakes to the Roanoke City Jail must first come through the Intake Section for proper and consistent commitments, including photographs, fingerprinting, services needed and housing (Classification Section). The Mental Health Unit (refer under Inmate Programs) is another responsibility of the Intake Section.