Fireworks go hand in hand with the 4th of July but did you know that each year thousands of people, most often kids and teens are injured? Sparklers burn at 1200 degrees Fahrenheit! And in Virginia, fireworks that explode or move up and down or side to side are illegal and could land you with a fine or even jail time.....the best advice: visit a professional show!
For more safety information, click here.
In Virginia, it is illegal to possess, use, store, sale, or handle any firework that explodes, rises into the air or travels laterally, or to fire projectiles into the air. ... However, fireworks that stay on the ground, like pinwheels, fountains and sparklers, are legal through the state code.
If you use illegal fireworks, you can be charged with a Class 1 Misdemeanor and you could face up to 12 months in jail and a $2,500 fine!
For a list of permissible fireworks, click here.
For more information about fireworks in Virginia, click here.