Regional Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy Committee

Type: Committee

Meeting Frequency: As determined by the Committee

Contact: Eddie Wells, (540) 343-4417; [email protected]

Members: Four (4)

Term of OfficeEligible for Reappointment
Matt Clark03/31/26Yes
Vivian Sanchez Jones (Elected Official Alternate)12/31/24Yes
Joseph L. Cobb (Elected Official)12/31/24Yes
Amanda Folman03/31/26Yes

Purpose: To develop, maintain, pursue implementation of and complete annual reporting requirements related to the Roanoke Valley – Alleghany Regional Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy document.

The COMMITTEE shall be charged with the following objectives, which include, but are not limited to, the following:

a. To support the ongoing economic development planning process in the Roanoke Valley-Alleghany Region, a region Consisting of the Counties of Alleghany, Botetourt, Craig, and Roanoke; the Cities of Covington, Roanoke, and Salem; and the Towns of Clifton Forge and Vinton.

b. To prepare draft CEDS documents, CEDS annual reports, Annual implementation schedules, and other documents to be sent to the US Economic Development Administration for review and approval by the Roanoke Valley – Alleghany Regional Commission.

c. To bring to the attention of the Roanoke Valley – Alleghany Regional Commission and the member localities of the Commission various approaches to solving community and economic development related problems.

d. To provide participating jurisdictions, organizations, and private sector entities with information on CEDS initiatives, relevant grant programs, and other related news.