Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) Permit

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is responsible for issuing individual and general permits that regulate stormwater discharges from municipal separate storm sewer systems (MS4).  DEQ administers these programs through the Virginia Stormwater Management Program (VSMP) Regulations, where are authorized by the Virginia Stormwater Management Act.  

The City of Roanoke is required to control discharges from municipal separate storm sewer systems under the General Permit for the Discharge of Stormwater from Small Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems to the maximum extent practicable in a manner that protects the water quality in nearby streams, rivers, and wetlands. 

Under the general permit, the City must develop, implement and enforce programs that include the following six minimum control measures (MCMs):

MCM 1: Public Education and Outreach
MCM 2: Public Involvement and Participation
MCM 3: Illicit Discharge Detection and Elimination
MCM 4: Construction Site Stormwater Runoff and Control
MCM 5: Post-Construction Stormwater Management Regulations
MCM 6: Pollution Prevention for Municipal Activities

The City has developed effective Best Management Practices (BMPs) to control stormwater pollution. The current MS4 Program Plan details how the City is addressing the MCMs. 

2018 - 2023 City of Roanoke MS4 Program Plan

The Program Plan is available to view by clicking on the 2018-2023 City of Roanoke MS4 Program Plan