Regional Agreement

The City of Roanoke, the County of Roanoke, and the Town of Vinton jointly operate Roanoke Valley Television (RVTV, Channel 3). The initial equipment and facility for the television studio were funded through a 1991 capital grant from Cox Communications. The three localities negotiated a new franchise agreement with Cox which started on Nov. 1, 2003 and included another capital grant to help provide for continued updating of RVTV’s capital equipment. However, operating costs for RVTV are funded by contributions from the three localities. The station is located at the Jefferson Center and currently employs five full-time staff members. The staff produces original video productions, monthly television shows, and covers live government meetings for the local governments and their school systems. Programming is cablecast on Cox Communications, Channel 3.

RVTV is governed by the Roanoke Valley Regional Cable Television Committee (Cable Committee), which includes representatives from the City, the County, and the Town of Vinton. On June 8, 1992, City Council approved the Roanoke Valley Regional Cable Television Committee Agreement, which was amended on March 10, 2004, and on March 19, 2012.  Such Agreement requires that the RVTV Operating Budget be approved by the governing bodies of the City, the County, and the Town. Funding by the three localities is based on the annual proportion of Cox subscribers located in each jurisdiction.