Northeast Roanoke Neighborhood Groups

During Roanoke’s early years, Jefferson Street divided the city East and West and the railroad divided the city North and South.  This delineation continues somewhat today as the city is divided into four primary geographic sections:

  • Northwest (NW), 
  • Northeast (NE), 
  • Southwest (SW), and 
  • Southeast (SE).  

Mailing addresses within the city normally include the two letter geographic abbreviation after the street name as many addresses within the city may have the same street name and number with the only difference being the geographic location of the address.